This is that kind of Saturday

SATURDAY’S A RUGBY DAY! Today marks an eventful day for competitive USA rugby. There are plenty of USA games to watch, if you are not participating in any Sevens tournaments today. Even if you happen to be participating in Sevens tournaments, here are a few games that you can check out while you wait.

Serevi Rugbytown 7’s

Many people don’t know about this tournaments, but they should. This is a primer Sevens tournament that only invites the best of the best club 7’s teams. Unlike the Club 7’s Championship, where teams can play their way into the tournament, the Serevi 7’s is an invitational only. This tournament marks as a scouting venue for Olympic scouts and other high competition rugby teams.

This will be shown live here. Games start at 10:30am CST/11:30 EST. Watch to see the future stars for the USA Eagles.

World Club Sevens Tournament

This is the inaugural tournament for the World Club Sevens Tournament. This was started due to the addition of Rugby 7’s to the Olympics, an effort was made to bring the best Club 7’s teams around the world together. Despite the term “Club” being utilized, you will find many international 7’s players in this tournament. The United States are sending two teams, San Francisco Golden Gates that include several Eagles players, including winger Carlin Isle; and New York City 7’s.

Games will be shown on ESPN3 (so you can watch online, on your Watch ESPN app, or on your gaming system). Games will start being shown at 9:00am CST/10:00am EST

 

USA EAGLES vs Canada

photos by Gift-Time Rugby Network
photos by Gift-Time Rugby Network

As many people know, the USA Men’s Eagles will be taking on Canada for the first of two rugby world cup qualifier games. The winner of this game will receive the coveted “Americas #1” seed in the Rugby World Cup. The loser will have to continue battling on to take on Uruguay for the “America #2” seed. In 2011, the United States lost to Canada in Toronto, and subsequently was forced to take fight for the America 2 seed to get into the 2011 Rugby World Cup. The USA Eagles hope to prevent that from happening this time. It has been four years since that qualifier game, but the ailments of the match up still are hanging on the Eagles. The Eagles have a 35 – 12 – 1 losing record against the Canada all time, including a recent loss against the Canadian’s for the Pacific Nations Cup match back on May 25, 2013. The Eagles return only eight starters from that Pacific Nations Cup team, and of those eight, six are part of the starting fifteen. Canada returns ten players from that match, while adding in rugby 7’s star, Harry Jones, into the mix. The Eagles have had success at home though, and we expect that to continue in this match.

Game will be shown on NBC Universal and Universal Sports. Game starts at 5:30 CST/6:30 EST. We will be live tweeting the game as well if you can’t watch the game.

Please follow and like us: