Olympic Year World Rugby Sevens Dates Announced

World Rugby has officially announced the dates of the World Rugby Sevens Series for the 2015/2016 season have been released. What looks to be, arguably, the most popular and most important season yet, the series has moved to a new level. This season will be expected to hold the first look at what could be the first look at the international sides that will be competing for the Olympics.

The announcement came with some additional news, as title sponsor HSBC, signed on for another four years to hold the sponsorship, as well as bring also sign on to become the title sponsor for the Women’s World Rugby Sevens Series. Giles Morgan, Global Head of Sponsorship and Events, HSBC Holdings, said in a release from World Rugby: “HSBC became the first-ever title sponsor of the men’s world series back in 2010, and we are excited to not only be extending this partnership for another four years, but also to become the first-ever title sponsor of the increasingly popular women’s world series. The Olympic decision has served as a tremendous catalyst for the growth of sevens around the world, not just in participation but also through the popularity of the HSBC Sevens World Series in recent years.

Las Vegas Sevens fans, especially couples, will be pleased to hear that the Las Vegas Sevens Tournament has been moved from Valentines Day weekend, to the first weekend in March. In addition, the long-awaited Vancouver date has been added in and will take place following weekend.

The Women’s World Rugby Sevens Series Dates will be announced at a later time

2015-16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series schedule
Round 1: Dubai: 4-5 December
Round 2: Cape Town: 12-13 December
Round 3: Wellington: 30-31 January
Round 4: Sydney: 6-7 February
Round 5: Las Vegas: 4-6 March
Round 6: Vancouver: 12-13 March
Round 7: Hong Kong: 8-10 April
Round 8: Singapore: 16-17 April
Round 9: Paris: 14-15 May
Round 10: London: 21-22 May




Share this post