USA Rugby Eagles Women’s RWC Roster Announced

USA Rugby Eagles released their roster for the Women’s Rugby World Cup and it is EXCELLENT.

The USA Eagles are going into the Rugby World Cup ranked 7th look to have a roster that will push to move up the rankings during the Women’s Rugby World Cup. This maybe the Eagles most athletic roster, and this list of sites are giving solid odds for the Eagles.

This 28 woman roster will be lead by Pete Steinberg, longtime Penn State head coach. Steinberg will have a experienced staff of assistant coaches in Richie Walker, USA Rugby Women’s 7s Head Coach, Peter Baggetta, head coach of high school rugby powerhouse Gonzaga High School, Liz Kirk, head coach for the Seattle Saracens, and Richard Ashfield, head coach for Stanford Men’s Rugby and former coach for Beantown Women’s rugby and Boston Irish Wolfhounds.

Naya Tapper

The players roster has a healthy mix of veteran and young talent. This roster is headlined by a number of USA Women’s Rugby Sevens team members such as, Naya Tapper, Kris Thomas, Cheta Emba, Alev Kelter, Jessica Javelet, and Nicole Heavirland. They Sevens players aren’t the only exciting selections to watch, Alycia Washington, Kimber Rozier, and the return of Devin Owsiany, have been selected to the squad. Washington has been a long time star for the NYAC women’s team, and a long resume of knowledge in the sport. Rozier will be returning for her second Rugby World Cup. Owsiany is a former USA Rugby Sevens player who was part of the team for the 2013 Women’s Sevens RWC and the 2012 roster. Balancing out all that experience, the roster adds college phenoms in Kayla Canett from Penn State, and Annakaren Pedraza from Lindenwood.

“With an experienced squad in 2014, we knew we had to get younger for this World Cup,” Steinberg said. “The shortened cycle has made getting so many players the experience they need challenging. This is a group that will need to grow through the tournament to be able to play at our top potential. It is exciting, though, to see so many players going to Ireland that will be eligible in 2021.”

Pete Steinberg

The Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland kicks off August 9th, and ends August 26th. The Eagles will face off in pool play against Italy on August 9th, Spain on August 13th, and England August 17th.

USA Women’s Eagles | Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017

Name Club/School
Kathryn Augustyn Berkeley All Blues
Catherine Benson Life West
Sylvia Braaten Twin Cities Amazons
Stacey Bridges Twin Cities Amazons
Kayla Canett Pennsylvania State University
Cheta Emba Women’s Eagles Sevens
Tiffany Faaee New York Rugby Club
Jordan Gray Life West
Abby Gustaitis Northern Virginia Rugby
Nicole Heavirland Women’s Eagles Sevens
Nicole James Houston Athletic Rugby Club
Jessica Javelet Women’s Eagles Sevens
Alev Kelter Women’s Eagles Sevens
Deven Owsiany San Diego Surfers
Samantha Pankey San Diego Surfers
Sara Parsons Northern Virginia Rugby
Annakaren Pedraza Lindenwood University
Christiane Pheil Chicago North Shore
Naima Reddick Seattle Saracens
Jamila Reinhardt San Diego Surfers
Hope Rogers San Diego Surfers
Kimber Rozier Scion Sirens
Kristine Sommer Seattle Saracens
Naya Tapper Women’s Eagles Sevens
Kristen Thomas Women’s Eagles Sevens
Alycia Washington New York Rugby Club
Jess Wooden Aylesford Rugby Club
Kate Zackary San Diego Surfers

USA Women’s Eagles | Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 Coaching Staff
Pete Steinberg – Head Coach
Peter Baggetta – Associate Head Coach
Richie Walker – Assistant Coach
Liz Kirk – Assistant Coach
Richard Ashfield – Assistant Coach
Ian Gibbons – Head of Physical Performance
Katie Gloyer – Physician
Michelle Look – Physician
Amy Valenta – Physiotherapist
Sarah Leslie – Physiotherapist
Bri Arsenault – Physiotherapist
Caitlin Singletary – Video Analyst
Julie Sutcliffe – Sports Psychologist
Amie Kern – Assistant Manager & Massage Therapist
Roshna Wunderlich – Manager

USA Women’s Eagles | Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017
v. Italy – Wednesday, Aug. 9 @ 11:30 a.m. ET
v. Spain – Sunday, Aug. 13 @ 9:45 a.m. ET
v. England – Thursday, Aug. 17 @ 9:30 a.m. ET
Semifinals – Tuesday, Aug. 22
Finals – Saturday, Aug. 26


Share this post